Bringing home unwanted guests

Bird Flu Virus
Photograph: Corbis

Mobile World Congress draws thousands of visitors from all over the globe to descend upon the great city of Barcelona.  But with so many people cramped into one city for several days, this can also bring “unwanted guests”.

On our last day of the show, we headed to the taxi pick-up line which at times can seem long and never-ending. As a result, many visitors opt to take other forms of transportation such as the metro. So off we went, venturing into the underground labyrinth of Barcelona’s subway system with hundreds of others.

As we cramped each other into a train, I ended up face-to-face with a stranger that kept coughing and sneezing.  I didn’t think anything of it at the time aside from trying to cover up as much as possible. Upon finally arriving home from my long journey back I realized I had brought home the bird flu. And a few days later I learned that my colleague arrived home just the same. Fortunately, we both came out unscathed but a couple of days later reports of a bird flu outbreak in Barcelona dominated the headlines…

Contribution by: Anonymous

Leave a comment